Mood Boards

For the past month I’ve been attending a Blogging Your Way bootcamp run by Holly Becker from the blog Decor8. It’s been inspirational to say the least and I’ve had the chance to meet many lovely bloggers as well as learn a mountain of information. They even assign homework which I can say with my hand on my heart that I have LOVED doing. One of the set homework tasks was to create a mood board for the the blog. So, whats a mood board I hear you ask? Well, it’s a collage of pictures that represents a mood, theme or concept. Interior Designers use mood boards to relay their idea’s and concepts to their clients. I must admit, that when I first started to create mood boards as part of my studies, it took me a while to get it. I really had no idea what I was doing! I didn’t know whether the images that I was putting together were “correct” at all or if the board or concept even made any sense. After going about it quite randomly for the first few attempts, nothing seemed to click. Then I realised that I had to have a starting point on my board and it needed to be either a feeling and/or a colour. Then I could progress with the images from there. Of course, the creative process is different for everyone, but I find that I need  to be more methodical about the way I create them and that works for me. Below are some mood boards that I’ve created as part of my studies…

A mood board for the Interior Novice Blog

A West Coast themed board for my Interior Design studies

An Art Deco themed board for a bathroom (also for my Interior Design studies)

Leave a comment

