Creating interest in the Bathroom

Good Morning All, I hope you are having a good one. Today in London, the sky is blue and the sun is out. Not too much to whinge about for a Winters day.

A couple of weeks ago I went to visit the flat of Big J’s sister who had recently moved in with her partner. It was another old Victorian house (there are a lot in London) but had been converted into 2 flats. One upstairs and one below. This flat was on the ground floor. The flat was packed with original features; lovely decorative cornicing and rickety victorian wood floors painted in a deep grey – just lovely. Then I went into the Bathroom. There in front of me lay the most beautiful black and white check tiles I had ever seen. I really wanted to take the bathroom home just so that I could have those tiles. But it got me thinking, what is it that makes a bathroom go from ordinary to extraordinary?

So off to Pinterest I went. I typed in ‘bathroom’ under search… and you know what? I found less than 10 interesting bathroom images (in my opinion of course), out of hundreds and hundreds, I only found 10! I was shocked, and after some thought, I think I found the reason. The bathroom is used for practical purposes, we don’t spend a lot of time in them and they need to be functional. When you think about a standard bathroom, all of the objects have a job to do, a shower to clean ourselves, sink to brush our teeth and toilet to do, you know what…

So I’ve put together some idea’s of how you can make your bathroom more interesting.

That’s all from me today. No post tomorrow, it’s Little J’s Christmas Play and we’ll be hunting for a Christmas tree after. We’ll talk more interiors on Thursday. x Doris

Image Source – 1 – Pinterest.com. 2, PrincessAnneCounty Blog, 3, Design Sponge, 4, Pinterest Universal Shades, 5, Pinterest.com

BathroomCollagewithwords

GlamBathroomwithwordsoutdoorbathroom

2 responses to “Creating interest in the Bathroom

  • tina

    You know before I moved into my current flat my plan was to have a lavish and decadent bathroom. Ha. The bathroom was the one thing I had to compromise in… I still dream of a bathroom like the ones you show. One of my favourites is Donna Karan’s in NY and Abigail Ahern in London. Although I really want a wet room too. A girl can dream, right? x

    • interiornovice

      Tina, admittedly my bathroom really needs to be updated also. It’s still as it was when we moved in. So I also dream of having a fabulous bathroom. It will happen one day! I’d have to agree that Abigail’s bathroom is stunning. Wouldn’t it be nice to have a wet room and a room for a lavish bath? xD

Leave a comment

