Breaking it Down

diningroomtitle

Today we are going to break down an Eclectic Dining room that has been designed by Daniel Beauchemin and Marc de Laat. I came across this room while surfing through the Elle Decor site while researching for a project on sitting rooms but this picture grabbed me instantly. So I felt that I couldn’t leave it alone without trying to work out why the room was so appealing.

diningroom

  1. The floor to ceiling curtains show off the extra height of the ceiling however their subtle colour allows them to blend into the background while enhancing the view of the garden.
  2. The bright colours in both the Julian Schnabel and Damien Hirst prints are similar creating harmony in the room
  3. The contemporary nature of the prints bring a casual feel to an other wise formal room
  4. The 18th Century table and empire style chairs bring an understated warmth to the room
  5. The black and white checkered floor echos the squares in the windows.

Is there anything about the room that speaks to you? Do you like it? I hope you have a lovely day. Till tomorrow. xD

Image Source – Elle Decor.com

6 responses to “Breaking it Down

  • MareePSasja

    Hi Doris,
    I love the contrast between the ornate heaviness of the chair on the left and the simple lines of the white painted doors. The chequerboard tiles tie the light and heavy elements of the room together. It is a very elegant, yet relaxed, room.
    PS I really want that chair with the scrolled arms! 🙂

  • Chi Feasey (@ChiFeasey)

    First of all, may I say just how inspiring your wonderful blog is?! I’ve been reading through your archives and you have such a knack for making the rudiments of interior design easily digestible for a slightly overwhelmed novice like me! I’ll certainly try to visit more often from now on. 😀

    Aaanyway, back to your eclectic dining room ….
    I love how you’ve broken it down to figure out what it is exactly that draws you to it. I recently discovered that it really helps me decide how I’d like my own home to look.
    I do like the successful juxtaposition of the traditonal and the contemporary. Floor to ceiling doors/windows always lend such grandeur and light to a room and the irreverent art work saves it all from being too grown up and serious.

    • interiornovice

      Hi Chi! You’ve blown me away with your compliment. I actually blushed a little. Thank You. I too like the mix of old and new, it’s not an easy thing to achieve the balance. And the floor to ceiling double height windows are just divine. Thanks for the visit. I’ll be sure to pop over to 106 and say hi. xD

  • tina @colourliving

    Oh, ladies (Chi & Doris), glad you met. Both talented women with great blogs!!

    Right, I like everything except those paintings. I really dislike how they’ve been hung against each other. They seem to dominate for me (badly so)

    Maybe I’m just tired and need to go to bed:-) x

    • interiornovice

      Having read your post after a nights sleep, I did have to look twice at the time 2am! I’m usually in bed by 10pm. I’m such a granny. Interesting view on the pictures though, I’d have to disagree with you there, I think they make the room more informal. Have a nice one. xD

Leave a comment

