How to create a hotel interior at home

ScandicGrandCentralTitle

Good morning, I hope you are well. Over the weekend I went to Stockholm to attend the Meet the Bloggers convention. As I mentioned in my last post, I was a little nervous about the whole thing as it was a new experience and I’d never been to anything like it before. So now I have to report back that I shouldn’t have worried. I’ve never met such a lovely bunch of people. Everyone was genuinely supportive and I learnt so much that I felt like my brain was going to burst.

Stockholm is a most beautiful city and although I have visited the city before with my family, this time I was able to visit the city with a more directed design view. I was naive in thinking that the Scandinavians have a very distinct aesthetic ie minimal with a strong tie with nature. I had assumed that the hotel we were staying at would be representative of this. So I was both surprised and delighted when I arrived to discover that the Scandic Grand Central Hotel was in fact an eclectic restoration by architecture firm Koncept of a property built in 1885. Their intention was to create an interior that would feel like it always existed. The core elements of the interiors were based around Music, playfulness, photography and creativity.

As I was walking through the hotel, I started wondering whether it would be possible to recreate the style of the interior at home.  So I put together some notes on how this could be possibly achieved within the reception, kitchen and bedroom of a home. The results are below:

Bedroom

  • Use a restricted colour palette to create harmony.  The orange pillows and stripe on the sheets create a pop of colour and focal point, the surrounding area then mellows, but still uses variations of the orange ie citrus orange in the typography picture to the camel brown in the curtains
  • Create a unique headboard by using wall panelling. The panelling is then painted out in the same colour as the wall so as not to be too intrusive on the scheme.
  • Use lighting to highlight artwork and create flexibility.

Kitchen

  • Use beautiful tiling on the floor to create a stunning feature.
  • Hang industrial lights over a kitchen island or dining table to create a focal point. Note: the size of the lights mimic the size of the pattern on the floor.
  • Don’t be afraid to use black in the ceiling and furniture. It makes the other colours in the room more vibrant.

And finally….

Reception

So what do you think? Do you like the scheme? Would you have any of the elements in your home? I’d love to know. Have a lovely Tuesday and I’ll see you tomorrow for inspiration Wednesday. xD

Image Source: Scandic Grand Central Hotel

14 responses to “How to create a hotel interior at home

  • iusedtobesomeone

    Just a quick note to say how much I am enjoying your blog. Like you I have young children and am working my way through the KLC open learning diploma, although I am only on section one. I have started my own blog, bedlamandbeyond however at the moment it is more about the bedlam than the beyond. Hopefully in the next few years my blog will be as full of insightful interiors like yours!

  • tiina

    great tips! I hope you arrived at home safe and sound. it was lovely to meet you!

  • susan colebourne

    glad to hear you had a great time… the thought of those things fills me with dread… i’m a small group person! this looks like a lovely hotel & i’m particularly drawn to the kitchen…. i’m in love… i have always loved these kind of tiles and, fingers crossed, will get to incorporate them in the home we’re building somewhere… just wondering, what is that against the back wall in the kitchen? it looks like a light board & i love it!

  • secretgardenhome

    Hi Doris, I’m so glad you had a great time! I love everything Scandinavian, so can’t wait when I get a chance to visit Sweden and Norway.

    The hotel you stayed in looks beautiful. The lights on all pictures are fantastic.
    Bests
    Monx

  • littlebigbell

    Such a lovely article Doris. I really enjoyed spending time with you. Hope you managed to catch up on the sleep after all that late night chatting with Chi. xx

  • tina @ colourliving

    What a fantastic idea to walk around the hotel and note what and why it works… brill!!

    Glad you had such a good time and realised what a supportive group bloggers can be:-)

    Talking till late into the night with Chi, eh?? She seems wiped out as nowhere to be found xx

    • interiornovice

      Hi Tina, Bloggers are the best! Chi and I stayed up till 3 am chatting about random things on Friday, it pretty much set the scene for the rest of the weekend. It was all good fun. We missed you there :). xD

  • Nathalie Arrigone

    Reblogged this on KOTHEA The Fabric Blog and commented:
    I’ve stayed in some great Swedish Hotels. I think you have to choose very carefully which ones you would want to mimic in your own home.

Leave a comment

