Interesting ways with Mosaic Tiles

MosaicTitle

So I’ve been feeling a little unmotivated in regards to my study lately. I took a break during half term (which was last week) as I always do because I like to savour the time I have with little J when he’s home from nursery, and I haven’t had the motivation to start up again since he went back (which was Monday). Then 2 things happened.

Lauren who writes a blog called Girl and the Abode which is about interiors amongst other things wrote a post about inspiration and motivation and included my blog in her list of daily reads. Thank You Lauren (I’m still blown away). And then a friend who I’ve only known for ย a few months asked me if I would help her re-design her bathroom! I truely believe that life has a way of nudging you in the right direction if you’re walking the wrong way. In this case, it was like a kick up the back side saying get on with it Doris!

So during the discussion with my friend, she told me about how she had two bathrooms and the reason she wanted the re-design for one was that she tried to design one by herself with mosaic tiles and it just came out all wrong. This got me thinking, how do you get it right?

So I started to investigate and I think the key is balance and to think about the proportion and scale of the room in relation to how much mosaic you use. Here are some idea’s.

Hexagon SwimmingpoolpictureMosiacTilesStripesWashbehindyourears

So what do you think? Would you like to have mosaic tiles in your bathroom?

Now I have to catchup on my studies so there will be no post tomorrow but I will be back on Monday for another Interior Style. Have a great weekend! xD

Title and Last Image – Freshome.com, 2nd Image – Guardian.co.uk, 3rd Image – Remodelista, 4th Image – Glassdecor via Modenus, 5th Image – Unknown

22 responses to “Interesting ways with Mosaic Tiles

  • Lena

    Oh yes, I totally want mosaic tiles in my bathroom – it has been a dream of mine for a long time. My parent’s house was right around the corner from Berlin’s Bisazza store and I remember admiring the mosaics whenever I passed it. If only I owned a house where I could go crazy with mosaics!
    And good to hear you’re back in the blogging mood. It’s true how the right things come at the right time very often. But allow yourself to take a break from time to time!

    • interiornovice

      Yes, mosaics have stood the test of time and I love them also. I could have a lot of mosaic in my home too but have resisted so far as my husband is opposed to them and you gotta compromise sometimes ;). xD

  • owlshouseblog

    wonderful stuff, and well-deserved recognition, doris! i mosaic tiled several bathrooms in a (dream) house in tuscany once so that each bathroom had white mosaics floor to ceiling on three walls, and one feature wall in a solid colour (turquoise blues/greens), and it worked well, i think..

  • Lauren

    I sincerely love reading your blog, you are obviously going to be a very talented designer! I am so thrilled that I was able to “nudge” you back into the right direction! Thats what we as fellow bloggers are here for! To keep each other inspired and motivated to continue on doing what we love! Congrats on the bathroom job! I am dying over those hexagon tiles. I love the look of them, especially paired with subway tile. ๐Ÿ™‚ Keep us posted on that! I would love to see what you have up your sleeve. Have a great weekend Doris!

    • interiornovice

      Thanks Lauren, you’re too sweet. I’m a little nervous about it but the experience will be invaluable. I will definitely report back on how it goes. Yes, those hexagon tiles are lovely, I agree. Have a nice weekend. xD

  • tina @ colourliving

    Hello sweet Doris,

    I always love your honesty… it’s refreshing and endearing. You are a very talented woman.

    Your blog is very unique and it’s wonderful how you share your own learning of interior design with the rest of us.

    Congratulations on the blog mention and on the bathroom gig, both very well deserved.

    I think everyone goes through periods of being uninspired and feeling a sense of ‘what’s it all for’?…. the trick is to have a set of tools to help drag you out of that state of mind. Now, for everyone this is going to be different, but I will share some of my own tool box. Whenever I need a ‘pick me up’ I go and pick out a tool or two:-)

    Reading inspirational quotes, listening to a TED talk, reading magazines, books, going to the cinema, have a day out with Tina, playing Tennis, booking a class/course of interest, go on a ride on my Vespa, do a Zumba class, do something charitable, practice gratitude… I could go on!!!

    Now to Mosaic… I’m obsessed with it. My dream has always been to have a mosaic wet room (I still keep dreaming) and would have hexagon, typographic or indeed a self-designed motif. Speaking of which, I started a mosaic design for my roof terrace but abandoned it quite a few years ago (lack of time etc etc etc). I blogged about it to keep me accountable and although I haven’t done anything yet I’m seriously contemplating having a mosaic weekend party with people who will help me finish it….

    http://colourliving.co.uk/the-unfinished-project

    I’m sure you’ll do a stellar job with the bathroom. The experience will be invaluable. Start believing in yourself:-)

    • interiornovice

      Oh Tina, you really are so inspiring. Thank You so much for your kind words and support, I just get so blown away with the support from everyone who comments here. I had to smile at your special tool – a day out with Tina. I’m sure that would lift anyones spirits ;). You should so have a mosaic party! I’d be there with bells on! Looking forward to meeting you next weekend. xD

  • littlebigbell

    Doris, I need a bathroom redesign. You see, a potential next customer. I love the hexagons and the typography ones. I remembered seeing on Living etc a wetroom with bisazza mosaics in white pinks and reds which looked stunning. But Bisazza is so expensive. Would love to see what you come up with xx

  • Anonymous

    Doris,
    I am happy I found your blog via the blog boss course. I am sure you will be successful. Do not give up!

  • Cyndi

    Hi Doris:
    I have just discovered your blog from the blog boss class and I’m impressed. You definitely have a gift for design and writing about it.
    I am a fan of the hex-tiles and would incorporate them into by bath in a heartbeat. I love the typography mural – although I’m afraid I would get tired of the quote & want to change it – what a job that would be.

    • interiornovice

      Hi Cyndi, Thanks for stopping by and your kind words, I’m glad you enjoy reading my blog :). In relation to the typography, I’d have to agree that if I did it, it would have to say something meaningful rather than a reminder to wash behind my ears ;). xD

  • secretgardenhome

    I love mosaic tiles. We are having Niebla giava mosaic sheets installed around the sink. I’ll share the pictures when the whole bathroom is done. We are getting there:)) Bests Monikax

  • Inge Picqueur

    Hello Doris!

    What a great blog you have as well! Thanks for stopping by and leaving such a sweet comment, you made my day! ๐Ÿ™‚

    About the tiles: I really love the horizontal shiny tiles! If you ask me I should go for these tiles. Especially in some bathrooms where there isn’t a lot of natural light, the shiny tiles come in handy for getting that “extra” light…

    Sounds you’re about to do some exciting things! I’m happy for you!! Good luck in decorating, I’m jealous!! ๐Ÿ™‚ I wish I could go on and decorate all day… I’m off to a boring job tomorrow, but I will be even more glad than any day to be coming home that evening since Blog Boss will start! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Hope to see you there in class and have a great week,
    Inge xo

  • Bathrooms with Texture | Diary of an Interior Novice

    […] the year I talked about how I was asked to help a friend design 2 bathrooms – you can read it here.ย We are now in the thick of it and in the process of interviewing builders and so far the process […]

Leave a comment

