Taxidermy Butterflies

Chriscourtframe.jpg

During the Design tour that I attended as part of the Meet the Blogger convention on the weekend, we made a quick stop to a very special shop called Les Couilles De Chien. When I stepped into the shop, I felt like I had stepped out of a time machine and been transported into old England circa 1800s. It was quite magical and I would highly recommend that anyone with a taste for antiques or with an eclectic style go and visit.

Aside from beautiful antique furniture, they also sold taxidermy which is the taking of the skin of animals and then preparing, stuffing and mounting the skins of the animals for display. This included the beautiful display of butterflies. Now I’m not sure if in this case the butterflies were real, but the displays that were created were beautiful and like a work of art.

LesCouillesDuChien.jpg

It reminded me of a time when I was at a local antique store in West London a few months back and fell in love with a set of real butterflies that had been individually set in display frames. I was in the store for at least 1/2 an hour agonising as to whether I should buy them because they were so so beautiful. So what was the problem? I hear you ask. It was the fact that they were real. Something in my heart just felt sorry for the poor things being trapped behind that display frame, and I felt that displaying them in my home was somehow going against what should be. I felt that I was being totally irrational but in the end I didn’t take them home with me.

However in the right setting, they can look amazing…

TaxidermyButterfly

ChrisCourtframe2

So my question to you today is, would you display taxidermy in your home? I’d love to know.

Have a lovely Thursday. xD

Image Source – Title & Image 4- Chris Court Photography , Image 2 – Les Couilles Du Chien, Image 3 – Hubsch via TheDesignSheppard

12 responses to “Taxidermy Butterflies

  • secretgardenhome

    Hi Doris, I must admit I’m not a big fan. Straight away I think of ‘The silence of the lambs’ haha
    x

  • Lena

    I’ve never thought of it – but I think I’d go for it. As part of a gallery wall it can look really nice! Or maybe not, after reading that silence of the lambs comment…

  • Happy Interior Blog (@IgorJosif)

    Hello Doris!! It was fabulous to meet you in London!! Hope to see you very soon again – let’s stay connected! I will add you to my blogroll! Cheers!

  • tina @colourliving

    I’m really pleased you liked Les Couilles De Chien… as there were quite a few London Bloggers on the tour I tried to mix things up so that there might be something interesting for everyone.

    I’m also greatful to Ben for coming especially to open up on a Sunday. I promised him Chocolates which I still need to deliver.

    As for Taxidermy, I love seeing it but am not sure how I feel about displaying it in my own home. It rather fascinates me… x

    • interiornovice

      It was really nice talking to Ben, he was a lovely guy and you could tell he was passionate about the store and what he does. Thank you again for a wonderful tour Tina. The whole taxidermy thing fascinates me too. xD

  • http://myeyesonthings.wordpress.com

    I still like the antlers, even though everybody is crying that this trend is so gone. Well, I don’t care about trends, I am from the Black Forest and I just like them because they remind me of my childhood. But the others, like butterflies with a pin through their bodies? Not really. But maybe someone else has good childhood memories of those…

    • interiornovice

      Hi Nicola, I never thought of it that way! You are right it probably does reflect what you are used to. Living near the Black Forest must have been wonderful. Did you have amazing adventures? xD

  • Shobha

    I feel the same way. Beautiful but not for me. At an art fair I went to, i saw a few different artists who had incorporated taxidermy into their art and that was just creepy. Sort of like Damien Hirst’s formaldehyde art which was really popular so other people must be less squeamish. I like animals too much I think.

    • interiornovice

      Hi Shobha,, lovely to hear from you. Yes, it’s very interesting. I haven’t had the chance to see Damien Hirsts cow but I know that I’d be fascinated when I did. It’s got to be pretty intriguing – just think of what he had to do to get that cow into that state! xD

Leave a comment

