Eclectic Melbourne Home

Title

Hello from Melbourne, Australia! I hope you had a lovely Easter and a nice and relaxing break. I have been having a wonderful time over here in my hometown. My cousins wedding was like reliving my childhood. I got to see lots of family and old friends and we shared many stories and memories together. We’ve spent the last couple of weeks at the beach, revisiting old haunts and sharing new experiences with Little J.

The weather has turned a little wet over here of late, so I thought I’d take some time to say hi and show you this cool home that I came across while checking out some local design talent. This home has been shortlisted in the Australian Interior Design Design Awards in the residential category.

It was designed by a local company called Wilson ID Pty Ltd. The project named, Rose of South Yarra (named after a Melbourne suburb) was designed for a client who wanted to embrace the style and ambience of  Melbourne’s cafe/laneway culture in her home environment. Industrial , mysterious , recycle, up-cycle, eclectic and moody were all words used to describe a proposed outcome that was aspirational but never absolutely knowable.

Storage

 

DiningTable

 

Bedroom

 

Bathroom

 

yellowchair-Recovered

 

I hope you enjoyed the tour, I love the bare brick wall with the pops of colour along with the industrial tone. It seems to mix all the aesthetics I love into one place. What do you think?

For those that are back in Europe, rug up as I heard it’s been snowing over there! I’m sure that sunshine is just around the corner. Till next time. xD

Photography: Trevor Mein

5 responses to “Eclectic Melbourne Home

  • shobha

    It’s terrific! The sun-faded brick walls add so much character. I’m so jealous you are at the beach!! We are in New York now and it’s as cold as London. With the tall buildings, forming wind tunnels … brrrr.

    shobha
    (nylonliving.com)

  • owls house london.

    ooo, lovely to find a new post from you, and lovely to visit a home from back home! what a brilliant brief – to recreate the fabulous cafe culture that melbourne does like no-one else. a little too much going on for my taste, but loads of character and vibrance.. x j

  • secretgardenhome

    Hi Doris, I’m glad you are having a lovely time back home. The house above looks beautiful. The industrial lights are my favourite.

    Bests

    Monx

  • tina @colourliving

    Hey you, glad you checked in…. also great to hear the wedding was a complete success and that you are having a splendid time.

    Snow? Yep, only yesterday. They are predicting some warmer weather. Yeah, let’s see. x

  • myeyesonthings

    We just returned from the Texas sun to the snow in Germany! Not nice at all! So I keep looking at nice sunny pics for cheering up. Thanks for sharing these.

Leave a comment

