Interior Styles: Tropical

TropicalStyleTitle

Apologies for the missed post yesterday everyone. I had to forgo some blogging over the weekend for some gardening, fun and friends. Sometimes life and a bit of pleasure has to take priority. Now I’m back for another type of pleasure (well for me anyway) blogging about Interior Styles. This week we look at the Tropical Style.

When I think of this style, I always remember the first holiday that Big J and I went on together. It was early on in our relationship and Big J had a business trip which took him to Singapore. As we were both itching to see the world, I came along with him after he had finished with with work portion of the trip we then descended to the North Eastern Coast of Malaysia with our back packs and very little experience in travel. When we got there, we hadn’t booked ahead thinking that we would just wing it and get some accommodation but everything within our budget was fully booked and we did not have enough cash, so out came the credit card and onto the speed boat that took us to the Perhentian Islands.

When we arrived, we were taken to a paradise that had an exquisite teak built bungalow that was located directly on the beach with the whitest softest sand. Just outside the bungalow were 2 palm trees that held the hammock that allowed you to sleep your afternoons away or if you were in the mood, the rattan chairs situated on the patio allowed you to read your favourite book.

When I think of tropical, this is what I reminisce about. It’s a style that takes me  to a world of white sandy beaches, palm tree’s and warm weather.

THE KEY ELEMENTS

  • The entire structure of the building is usually made out of wood – both inside and out.
  • A dark or warm coloured wood is used extensively throughout the whole interior.
  • The colour scheme is neutral with warm accents and can incorporate colours taken from the nature of the surrounding environment.
  • Windows are usually dressed with shutters or bamboo roll up blinds.
  • Furniture is wooden and simple in style, or made of woven grasses such as wicker or ratten.
  • Fabrics used are natural such as cotton or linen.
  • Due to the warmer weather conditions, it is typical for this style to not have a lot of windows or for the patio to be a prominent part of the house in most cases used as another room.

TropicalStyleLivingRoom1

TropicalStyleLivingRoom

TropicalStyleKitchen

TropicalStyleOutdoorBed

TropicalStyleBedroom

THE REALITY CHECK

Although I love this style, I would suggest that it would work best in a tropical location.

So what do you think? Do you like this style? Does it remind you of any tropical holidays you have taken in the past? I’ve love to know. Have a lovely day and I hope that the images of this family weekend getaway located in Marahu Beach in Brazil has inspired you as much as it did me. You can see more images of the house here. Till tomorrow. xD

Image Source: CASA Vogue

8 responses to “Interior Styles: Tropical

  • essenziale-hd

    Wow, what a beautiful interiors you have found! I am a big fan of tropical style since I spent four year on tropical islands. It is so relaxing and close to nature. I would love to live in the surroundings like that, though unfortunately can’t make it now in urban environment in my city apartment 🙂

    • interiornovice

      Hi Anna, Wow 4 years on a tropical island sounds like heaven. You’re right, it’s the affinity with nature that makes this style of interior so enticing. I’m glad you enjoyed the interior. xD

  • secretgardenhome

    Thanks for this Doris. The pictures took me back to my last holiday in Brasilia:)))) When we finish the house. one day haha I would love to go to Malaysia. Dream on…Have a lovely week Monx

  • Happy Interior Blog (@IgorJosif)

    Oh I love the turquoise and mustard hues and the use of airy light linen. I could handle some tropical vibe here, too:-)

  • tina @colourliving

    Gosh, how beautiful is this? Stunning! I always love how you make me really LOOK at an interior. I practice mindfulness when visiting your blog. This is a huge compliment BTW:-)

    Loved the story of your first holiday with Big J… how romantic was that? No wonder you fell head over heals in love xx

    • interiornovice

      Tina, you always have a way of making me blush, thank you as usual for you kind kind words. I feel so supported here, you all help to keep me motivated. I hope you are having a great week! xD

Leave a comment

