5 things I’ve learnt from…

Styling-your-hometitle

Earlier in the week I attended the Press Release event of Anthropologies Autumn/Winter homewares collection. I’ve always been a fan of this eclectic store as not only do I love what they sell, but I am always returning to see what creative display they have put up.

Regular readers of this blog will know that I don’t usually talk about particular products as I’m more geared towards talking about design. However, I couldn’t resist a sneak peak.

When I got there, I was blown away with the displays they had put together I just had to take a few snaps. In turn, I realised that it is just as important to understand the basics of styling as it is about design for an Interior Designer to be successful. The finishing touches are what complete the interior and as they say, the devil is always in the details. So I thought I’d put together some basic things to consider below:Styling-your-home

  1. Display similar items  together to create a harmonious focal point.
  2. Vary the height of objects to create interest.
  3. Always add flowers, foliage or food to appeal to the senses.
  4. Add quirky items in unexpected places.
  5. Restrict the colour palette but provide lots of texture.

If you happen to be a professional interior stylist out there or even if you’re not, I’d love to know what you think as these tips were purely derived from the photo’s I took. And even if have something  you’d like to add to the list, I’m always eager to learn so don’t be shy!

It’s a long weekend over here in the UK so I will be back on Tuesday with another Interior Profile. Whatever you are up to, have a good one. And for all of my fellow blogging friends who are off to Berlin for The Hive Conference, safe travels and have a great time!

Till next week. Enjoy! xD

Photography: Doris Lee (Interior Novice)

6 responses to “5 things I’ve learnt from…

  • Bettina McILWraith

    Love your styling tips here Doris, especially number 3. In bringing the outdoors in with flowers, foilage and food we can reconnect with nature and vibe off its natural energy. Green is GOOD.
    Your photoshop skills are impressive too.
    Have a great weekend. X

  • tina @colourliving

    Yes, by now I’m over being upset. Resigned to the fact that I have to wait till Hive14.

    Sorry we didn’t get to meet today.

    I also love Anthropologie and often visit just for the displays. However, I always walk out with something or other;-)

    I don’t know. I sometimes find that sort of styling too contrived for the home. It works beautifully to display objects for sale though…

    Hope you have a lovely long weekend x

    • interiornovice

      Hi Tina, I always walk out with something from there also! I think that the beauty of Anthropology is that the display ideas are so original that they could be used in the home, for example a ladder could be used to display books and look perfectly fine in the right home. I hope you enjoyed your weekend Tina. xD

  • Chi @ 106

    I adore Anthropologie and for the two reasons you mentioned, too!

    The moss-covered table would look so cool in a garden with ornamental planters or urns bursting with blooms.

    Haha! Listen to me – I’m inspired already! 😀

    Hope you had a brilliant bank holiday weekend. x

Leave a comment

