Making pastels modern

salmontitle

I love it when I surprise myself. I’m not sure whether it’s because of the warm weather here in London, but while spending some time over on Pinterest the other day, I found myself pinning more and more pastel coloured interiors than I thought I would.

After some closer examination of my choices, I found that even though I wouldn’t normally go for the colour, it was the backdrop and the way the pastel colours were presented that I found appealing. It reminded me that you can take any colour, no matter how out dated or disliked and bring it back to current times by using some simple tricks.

For example, the image at the top has used pastels against a dark grey wall and in a geometric pattern on the cushion (very on trend). The pastel colours are also used as accents against a largely white and grey palette, ensuring that the entire look isn’t overwhelmed by the pastel. Here are some more examples below:

SalmonBathroomSofa

SalmonNeutral

SalmonModernArt

Do you like pastels? or are you not a fan like me? Maybe this post gave you some idea’s?

It’s beautiful weather over here in London and it’s time to go out and enjoy some sunshine! Have a lovely week. See you back here on Thursday!

xD

Image Source: Title – via Eclectic Trends, 1 – SarahWidman, 2 – Marthastewart.com, 3 – VTWonen.nl, 4 – via Style-Files.com

15 responses to “Making pastels modern

Leave a comment

