Mixing it up with Old and New

Titlemixingoldwithnew

Lately I’ve been thinking about the relationship between old and new furniture. I used to think that the way to create a beautiful interior scheme was to start with an empty room, spend large sums of money, buy everything shiny and new and voila – a beautifully stylish interior.

Now it could be because I’m getting older or the influence of being in a country that has so many historic sites and buildings but I have slowly grown to love beautifully aged and distressed pieces of furniture.

I recently visited a local garden centre. My eye was immediately drawn to an old rusted table that was sitting in the rain.  It had aged and oxidised to the point where the surface was no longer smooth and shiny, but textured, rough and lumpy. The legs which would have once been considered ornate had rusted over into a wonderful copper colour. There was something magical about that little round zinc topped table and it took a lot of will for me not to take it home. I’ve been thinking about it ever since.

So it got me asking the question, how can I incorporate old furniture with new? I think that the trick is to make it the star of your scheme. Embrace that it is aged and sit it alongside something very clean and contemporary so that it stands out. Another option is to re-use it for another purpose, for example if it was a cabinet, use it as a closet instead. Think outside of the box. Here is some inspiration…

OldArmchairNewShelves

OldShuttersNewTable

OldpalettesNewSinkFittings

OldWoodenboardsnewtechnology

 

The examples show that an old distressed item can sit quite happily within a contemporary setting. Do you have any aged items of furniture in your home? Do you like to mix old and new furniture in your scheme? I’d love to know. Till next time. xD

Image Source: Title: Richard Powers Photography , 1 – Design Sponge, 2 – Casadecor.es via Crazy Mary Revista, 3 – Remodelista, 4 – Design Sponge

13 responses to “Mixing it up with Old and New

  • Lena

    I’m mixing old and new furniture a lot – because I like the mix and because we simply have some really nice antique and midcentury pieces that we love. The thing with new furniture is that the nice things are often so so expensive – we only buy very few and mix them with what we inherited from our families.

  • tina

    Beautiful examples as usual!

    I’m assuming to went to Petersham Nurseries (judging from your IG).. they have the most beautiful weathered furniture, but oh so very pricey!

    One of my favourite places to source and buy reclaimed pieces is retrouvius.com They have an amazing eye and their pricing is fair.

    When I next move I will definitely mix old & new. It is my favourite look!
    In my current flat, I had nearly all of it hand-carpented. As a result I only have a table, some sofas and a bed as furniture and they were bought new and are colourful:-) xx

  • file share kindle fire

    Hmm it seems like your blog ate my first comment
    (it was super long) so I guess I’ll just sum it
    up what I submitted and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying
    your blog. I as well am an aspiring blog writer but I’m
    still new to the whole thing. Do you have any suggestions for inexperienced blog writers?
    I’d genuinely appreciate it.

  • cyndi

    I love mixing old and new. With all of the DIY information we have available to us, many old pieces are finding new ‘lives’ in our homes – it brings personality into a space. The last two examples would be perfect for me. Cheers!

  • geraldine@littlebigbell

    Love mixing old and new. Great examples Doris. Hope you are well. How’s the interiors course going. Thanks for my print lovely. xx

  • Vie

    A lot of people when they are decorating and refurnishing throw all the old stuff away and just buy new. The amount of wonderful bits I have picked up that people are throwing away is amazing, and it can work so well!

  • kinnearjulie

    Thanks for giving some excellent inspirations. I have an old looking coffee table that I inherited from my grandma and haven’t decided what to do with it until now. Well, it’s time to embrace the challenge of placing it. The next thing on my New Year’s to-do list.

Leave a comment

